A valkyrie is a elegant, beautiful and noble maiden, who bear dead heroes, assisting Odin in transporting his favorites among those slain in battle to Valhalla, where they will fight by his side during Ragnarok. You are in training and sent by those above you to prove yourself worthy of becoming a fully fledged valkyrie. If you succeed you will be accepted as a true valkyrie and become one of Odin's daughters. If you should fail you will remain as a mortal and suffer the same fate as all mortals.

Valkyrie Leveling Table

Level         Proficiency Bonus                   Features
1                            +2                      Fighting Style, Favored Hero 
2                           +2                      Chooser of the Slain
3                           +2                      Order Archetype
4                           +2                      Ability Score Improvement
5                           +3                      Extra Attack  
6                           +3                      Ride of the Valkyrie 
7                           +3                      Order Archetype Feature
8                           +3                      Ability Score Improvement
9                           +4                      Improved Favored Hero
10                         +4                       Order Archetype Feature
11                          +4                       Freya's Radiance
12                         +4                       Ability Score Improvement
13                         +5                       Improved Chooser of the Slain 
14                         +5                       Odin's Lift
15                         +5                       Order Archetype Feature
16                         +5                       Ability Score Improvement
17                         +6                       Improved Freya's Blessing
18                         +6                       Order Archetype Improvement
19                         +6                       Ability Score Improvement
20                        +6                       Ragnarok  

Basic Features

Hit Points

  • Hit Dice: 1d10 per valkyrie level.
  • Hit Points at 1st Level: 10 + your Constitution modifier.
  • Hit Points at Higher Levels: 1d10 (or 6) + your Constitution modifier per valkyrie level after 1st.


  • Armor: All armor, shields
  • Weapons: All simple and martial weapons
  • Tools: None
  • Saving Throws: Strength, Constitution
  • Skills: Choose two skills from Acrobatics, Animal Handling, Athletics, Insight, Intimidation, Perception, Religion and Survival.


  • (a) chain mail or (b) leather armor, longbow, and 20 arrows
  • (a) a martial weapon and a shield or (b) two martial weapons
  • (a) a light crossbow and 20 bolts or (b) two handaxes
  • (a) a dungeoneer's pack or (b) an explorer's pack

Alternatively, you can ignore the equipment from your class and background, and start with 5d4 x 10 gp.

Fighting Style

At first level, choose one of the following options.

  • Defense: While you are wearing armor, you gain a +1 bonus to AC.
  • Dueling: When you are wielding a melee weapon in one hand and no other weapons, you gain a +2 bonus to damage rolls with that weapon.
  • Protection: When a creature you can see attacks a target other than you that is within 5 feet of you, you can use your reaction to impose disadvantage on the attack roll. You must be wielding a shield.
  • Two-Weapon Fighting: When you engage in two-weapon fighting, you can add your ability modifier to the damage of the second attack.

Favored Hero

At first level, on your turn, you can use an action to cast the bless spell on an ally within 5ft of you and that ally regains hit points equal to 1d10 + your valkyrie level. Once you use this feature, you must finish a short or long rest before you can use it again. Once you reach 9th level, you can use this feature twice before a rest.

Chooser of the Slain

Starting at second level, as an action, you choose up to three creatures within 60ft of you. Those chosen are marked by the valkyrie for up to 1 minute. For the duration creatures marked by the valkyrie take an extra 1d4 of triggering damage whenever they are damaged. Once you use this feature you cant use it again until you finish a short or long rest. Once you reach 13th level the duration increases to 10 minutes, the number of creatures increases to six and the damage increases to 2d4.

Order Archetype

At third level, you choose an archetype that you strive to emulate in your combat styles and techniques. It grants you a feature at 3rd level, and again at 7th, 10th, 15th, and 18th level.

Ability Score Improvement

When you reach 4th level, and again at, 8th, 12th, 16th, and 19th level, you can increase one ability score of your choice by 2, or you can increase two Ability Scores of your choice by 1. As normal, you can't increase an ability score above 20 using this feature.

Extra Attack

Beginning at 5th level, you can attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on your turn.

Ride of the Valkyrie

Beginning at 6th level, you can summon your pegasus to you. It only acts on your command and doesn't take orders from anyone else.  While you are riding your pegasus and aren't incapacitated, you gain the following benefits:

  • You have advantage on melee attack rolls against any unmounted creature that is smaller than your pegasus.
  • You can force an attack targeted at your mount to target you instead.
  • If your pegasus is subjected to an effect that allows it to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, it instead takes no damage if it succeeds on the saving throw, and only half damage if it fails.
  • Your pegasus has the water walk spell permanently cast on them.

Freya's Radiance

At 11th level, once on each of your turns when you hit a creature with a weapon attack, you can cause the attack to deal an extra 1d10 radiant damage to the target. When you reach 17th level, the extra damage increases to 2d10.

Odin's Lift

At 14th level, you gain the ability to sprout a pair of angelic wings from your back, gaining a flying speed equal to your current speed. You can create these wings as a bonus action on your turn. They last until you dismiss them as a bonus action on your turn.

You can't manifest your wings while wearing armor unless the armor is made to accommodate them, and clothing not made to accommodate your wings might be destroyed when you manifest them.


Starting at 20th level, you can cast Meteor Swarm once using this feature. You and all allies you can see within range are immune to the Meteor Swarm damage. Once you use this feature you can't use it again until you finish a long rest.