The archetype Dragoon focuses on the development of leaps and bounds honed to deadly precision. Those who model themselves on this archetype combine aerial combat with polearm devastation.

Boosted Leap

Beginning when you choose this archetype at 3rd level, your standing high jump increases to 10 + 5 times your Fighter level. Your standing long jump is equal to 20 + 5 times your Fighter Level. You take no fall damage equal to your maximum high jump. 

Diving Strike

Also at 3rd level, as an action you can perform a high jump requiring no movement. In doing so this does not provoke opportunity attacks, you hover in the air up to the end of your next turn. On your next turn choose a creature within a 10ft radius of where you jumped from. You come crashing down on that creature. You can make a weapon attack against that creature with advantage. (This uses up one attack for purposes of extra attack). 

Whenever you are attacking with a polearm weapon (quarterstaffs, halberds, pikes, glaives, and lances) you deal an additional 1d6 damage for every 15ft you have fallen. 

Mixed Blood

Starting at 7th level, the dragon blood that has blessed you begins to stir, choose a type of dragon and gain resistance to their elemental type. Choose a class: bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, warlock, or wizard. You learn one cantrip of your choice from that class's spell list that contains the same type of damage as your chosen dragon type. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Your spellcasting ability for these spells depends on the class you chose: Charisma for bard, sorcerer, or warlock; Wisdom for cleric or druid: or Intelligence for wizard.

Aerial Evasion

At 10th level, you learn to perform aerial maneuvers to avoid harm. While in the air, if you are subjected to an effect that allows them to make a Dexterity saving throw to take only half damage, you can use your reaction, you instead take no damage upon success and half damage upon a fail. Additionally, you gain a +1 to your AC for every 30ft you are in the air from your attacker.

Comet Storm

Starting at 15th level, your dragon blood becomes stronger fueling your strength and magic and combining it into one. When you use Diving Strike, you can toss a pole arm towards the ground and cause hundreds of duplicates of the weapon fall in a volley from above and then disappear. Each creature in a 40-foot-radius, 20-foot-high cylinder centered on that point must make a Dexterity saving throw. A creature takes 8d8 damage on a failed save, or half as much damage on a successful one. The damage type is the same as that of the chosen dragon type.

Draconic Channel

At 18th level, your polearm attacks now deal an additional 2d6 damage. The damage type is the same as that of the chosen dragon type. Additionally, your cantrip is now cast at its highest level.


Samurai live by the strict code of Bushido. They are a highly skilled and highly trained fighter that holds honor and respect for their way of living. They are generally considered to be some of the highest ranking officers in the militia.

Bonus Proficiency

When you choose this archetype at 3rd level, you gain proficiency in one of the following skills of your choice: History, Insight, Performance, or Persuasion. If you are proficient with the chosen skill, you instead add twice your proficiency bonus to the roll.


Also at 3rd level, you have learned the ways of the warrior. This is a deep understanding of your combat prowess. Choose one of the Bushido styles below. You can choose an additional style when you reach 10th level and again at 18th level.

  • Aikido: A defensive style to stop an opponent without causing serious harm to them. As a reaction when you are hit with a melee weapon, you can make an unarmed attack against them.
  • Battojutsu: Way of drawing the blade. As part of an attack, if your sword is sheathed, you can draw your blade. If you do, you gain a +2 on the attack roll.
  • Kendo: A style that practices safety. Your weapon attacks deal non-lethal damage.
  • Kyudo: It teaches meditation and control of the mind with a bow. You do not gain disadvantage on your ranged bow attacks.
  • Jiu Jutsu: The way of the gentle technique. You can use your Dexterity modifier instead of Strength with your longsword/katana weapons.
  • Judo: The gentle way. As an attack (replaces one if you have Extra Attack), you can attempt to throw a grappled creature. Make a grapple check against the grappled creature. On a succees, throw the creature up to 10ft to the ground dealing 1d6+strength modifier bludgeoning damage and the target becomes prone.
  • Naginatajutsu: Art of the polearm fighter. While weilding a heavy polearm you gain a +2 to damage.

Bushido Spirit

Starting at 7th level, you have not only connected with the physical aspects of Bushido, but also the spiritual aspects. You have a pool of D6s equal to your proficiency bonus that help fuel the code of Bushido. You can expend a D6 as described below.

  • Benevolence: As an action, you can expend one of your D6 to target a creature within 5ft. They regain hit points equal to the roll. 
  • Character: When you are subjected to a Wisdom Saving throw, as a reaction, you can expend one of your D6 adding the roll to your save.
  • Courage: When you take damage, you can expend a D6 and reduce the damage by the number rolled.
  • Honesty: When you make a persuasion check, as a reaction, you can expend one of your D6 and add the roll to the check.
  • Honor: As an Action, you can expend one of your D6 to cast the Compelled Duel spell. Your Save DC is 8 + Charisma Modifier + the D6 rolled.
  • Loyalty: As an action, target a number of allies within 30ft equal to your proficiency bonus and expend a D6. Each ally gains temporary hit points equal to the roll.
  • Politeness: When giving the Help Action, you can expend a D6, that creature gains the number rolled on that action.
  • Rectitude: When a creature drops to 0 hit points within 30ft of you, you can expend a D6 as a reaction and add that number to each death saving throw they make for the next 1 minute.

You regain all expended uses when you finish a Long Rest. When you reach 15th level, you regain all expended uses on a Short or Long Rest.

Shogun's Warrior

When you reach 10th level, your mere presence in the world is noticible by all. As you travel, any creature of your choice that has a Wisdom score below your level sees you as something to be feared and respected. If they come within 10ft of you, they must make a Wisdom saving throw, DC equal to 8 + proficiency bonus + Charisma modifier. On a failure, if they see you in a negative fashion, they become frightened for 1 minute. If they see you in a normal or positive nature, they are charmed by you for 1 minute. This effect ends early if they take damage or receive an action they consider hostile by you or any of your allies. When the effect ends or if they save, they are immune to this effect for 24 hours. 

Spiritual Burn

At 15th level, you have learned to control your Bushido Spirit and focus it into your attack. As a bonus action, you can expend any number of your D6 dice when you hit a creature. Roll all that you expended and add them to your damage as radiant damage.

Last Will of the Samurai

When you reach 18th level, only an honorable death will do and you make sure it happens by any means. When your hit points would drop to 0, you can choose to instead drop to 1 and until the start of your turn, damage you receive is reduced to 0. At the end of your turn, you drop to 0 hit points and gain a number of failed death saves equal to the number of times damage was reduced to 0.

When you use this feature you cant do so again until you finish a Long Rest.